Post Production – Hidden Worlds – (Festival Trailer) – Work I have done

Video Editing

Once I chosen the right video footage I opened then all up in Premier Pro where I was able to edit the different video footage and find the best parts of the footage as well as add the Audio. I timed the change of each footage to be in syn with the audio playing in the background. I was able to put all the footage I wanted to use into a folder to make the work spaces organised.

premior-pro01

Composition size 1920 x 1080 (1080dpi)

Once completed I then imported the projected into After Effects, import – adobe Premier pro project.

This video below shows the work I have done so far for my Festival Trailer.

Audio

To find the Audio I wanted to use I went onto boomkat https://boomkat.com/ where I was able to find the right music.

I have used is Erik Luebs – Frozen Eye on BBC 6 Music (15th Anniversary Comp – Project Mooncircle 2017) because I wanted to use techno music. I converted the song on YouTube convert and then opened it in media encoder and saved it as a AIFF file. Then I was able to add the audio file onto the footage in Premier pro.

To ward the end of the Festival Trailer I have duplicated the audio to get the best fad out to the video.

audio-close-up01

Animation and compositing

To help me start off my project I look at several YouTube tutorials to see how I could create the glitch look to my work (tutorial information can be found on the experiment page). I have used adjustment layers which have a displacement maps attached, along with this I have also used a glitch video. I have also made the text track parts of the video using mocha.

The below screen shoot shows the adjustment layer displacement map, I have alternated between using tile map and centre map to crate different looks to the video.

Screen Shot below is for displacement map settings.

screen-shot-2017-02-02-at-19-44-11

To make the text track objects in the footage I have used Mocha, I pasted the code from Mocha and copied it onto a Null layer (making sure that the line was at the start of the footage). I then parented the text layer to the null layer.

You can see this in my below screen shots.

Work Done on 02.02.16

I have made the text look blurry and also animated them by using Character offset – character alignment and keyframes. By doing this it has linked in well with the enigma machine.

I wanted to also give the feel of redacted text so I have animated box which can reveal the names or cover then up. And I have also made the boxes move with the text underneath. To do this I need to place the boxes in the right place then parented them with the text.

The top screen shot shows how I have animated the text.

I didn’t need to do any colour correction to my video, all I have added is an vignette.

Video for Festal Trailer

To exported this video I first needed to render it in After Effects as a QuickTime (animation) video file format then save as uncompressed.

When compressing the video in Media Encoder I looked at the design brief to get the right information such as (compressing the video will reduce the file size) –

  • Video file Format – QuickTime
  • Video Codec – H264
  • Audio Codec – AAC Stereo, 16 -bit, 44.1 khz
  • Date Rate – 15 000kbps – 20 000kbps

When saving in Media Encoder  – name of file then added compressed at the end.

After doing this I was then able to upload the video onto my vimeo account and copy the code onto WordPress.

Keeping organised

Screen shoot of how I have organised my layers.

Pink – Adjustment layers

Green – Video

Red – Other

Yellow – Null layer

Blue – Text/Font

To also keep my work spaces organised, I have Pre-Compose layers and videos.

Screen Shot of all of the Festival Trailer footage

Weekly Planner can be viewed here for Week 10 & 11 week10and11

Weekly Planner can be viewed here for Week 12 week12

Leave a Reply

