FINAL MAJOR PROJECT – Evaluation

DebrasWisdom-final-work

­Evaluating work

I have enjoyed completing Debra’s wisdom project, as it has allowed me to gain a better understanding of how to structure a design brief as well as set out my own project. All the skills I have learnt over the past two years of being in college have contributed to me creating a successful set of three posters which look professional. Debra’s wisdom is a personal development project that I have set for myself.

To start of the research, I broke down the design brief to see what was being asked of me, such as timescale and constraints. I have produced a timetable, which I was able to stick to as well as completing a weekly planner, which has also helped me to stay on track throughout this project. Along side this I also noted down any feedback received from my teachers. By doing this I was able to achieve a better set of work which looks professional.

As this project is all about my wisdom, for my primary research I have written down phrases I live my life by as well as phrases my family have said to me over the years. This information ties in well with Nicholas Felton work because he collects information such as places he has visited and the duration spent there. I have done the same with my work but I have focused on the time spent developing my skills and time spent in work whiles studying. By taking inspiration from Felton’s work I have made my own work more personal and added extra visual information rather then just having a phrase on the poster. The extra information ties in with the phrase and gives it more depth and meaning.

For my secondary research, I have looked into 5-artists/ art movements to take inspiration from for my project. I have taken a lot of inspiration from Swiss Art and Stefan Sagmeister work, as you can see throughout my work. I was also heavily influenced by the Spotify promotional design work where they have used duotone onto a photograph of an artist. By looking at all of my research it has helped me to achieve my final look for my set of posters. The posters look professional, clean, crisp and most of all modern in its design and they all work well together.

For this project I have looked through several books such as, graphic design, data visualization and Sagmeister. The Book details can be found after the evaluation. I wanted to gather my research from books rather then just relying on the Internet as I feel this as help to make my research for this project much stronger.

The materials I have collected for this project are photographs I have taken off myself as I wanted to be involved in every part of the design process. I have taken photographs of myself from the front, back and side. I have done this because I wanted to be included within the poster as this is a personal project. When taking the photographs I have deliberately not looked at the camera so that the audience are wondering what I am looking at or thinking about. Other information I have collected are feedback I have received from my tutors and time spent in college and work.

As this project was set by myself as a personal development I did not have much constraints. I needed to produce a set of three posters, which explores phrases I live my life by. The size of the posters are A3 as I feel this size would have more of an impact on the audience and will attract their attention. As I did not have a target audience I was able to be as creative as I wished to be and this did not affect the design process. The only constraint is the print work must be 300dpi.

For this project I have done a lot of experimentation work using different programmes such as Photoshop, Illustrator, After effects and Cinema 4D, I have also looked at several Youtube tutorials as well to find the best avenue for me to go down.

On each poster work I have used a different phrase and photograph of myself which help to make the posters look visually interesting but still work well as a set. I also been able to add data information I have collected over my duration at college such as how many hours I have spent in college, at home and on placement/work developing my skills. This information also fits in well with the phrases I have used. I have also included information about what units I covered and feedback I received from my teachers over the two years I have been in college. By adding this information it has made the work become more personal to myself because the information I have used is all about myself.

I have chosen the below phrases on my work because I feel they best represent me and how I live my life.

“Think positive”

“Hard work pays off”

“Never give up on your dreams”

To make my posters stand out I have used bold colours such as red, blue and green for the background because I wanted the posters to be vibrant and in your face and I feel that I have been able to achieve this. I have added duotone to the images, which has made them look attractive to the eye but simple. I didn’t want to just have the original photographs or have them be black and white; I wanted them to be a piece of art. I have also allowed for some white to be visible on the background I like this look of the white poking through as it is adding interest to the background.

I have used a modern clean font Lato Bold for the phrases, which have helped to make the phrases look bold and dominance on the poster like they are shouting at you. I have used a different font Orator std for the information about my self. This font has a nice computer style to it. I have used both of these fonts because they are modern and complement each other and look professional. What I also like about the phrase text is the way I have clustered them together, this was my tutor suggestion. By doing this it has helped to create an interesting looking poster.

I have deliberately displayed the information text to go over the images this makes the work look nice and also look less forced on the poster layout.

I have also added graphic images to tie in with the phrases such as a plus symbol for positive, equal symbol to represent hard work pays off and lines to represent repetitiveness to improving skills. I have done this to add a graphic element to the posters, which has helped to make the posters look interesting and every thing within the poster relate to each other.

I am very happy with my final set of three posters I have created, I feel that I have stook to my design brief and all the research and experimentation I have done has helped me throughout this project. I have taken on board all the feedback I have received from tutors and fellow classmates, which has helped me towards achieving a professional set of print work. As you can see from looking at my work I have spent a lot of time experimenting with different ways of presenting my text before I have found the best look for them.

All three of the posters show my life experience hard-won wisdom which was the aim of this personal development project, and I am proud of them and most of all they are unique.

BOOKS I HAVE READ,

Charlotte & Peter Fiell., 2005. Graphic design: for the 21st century. Italy : TASCHEN.

Robert Klanten., N. Bourquin, S. Ehmann 2008. Data Flow: visualising information in graphic design. Berlin : GESTALTEN

John O’Reilly., 2002. No Brief: Graphic Designers: Personal Projects., Singapore:ROTOVISION

Peter Hall., 2001. Sagmeister., China: ABRAMS

 

Leave a Reply

